Lana Del Rey: Love Her or Hate Her

74874262Is there a more polarizing figure in the music industry than Lana Del Rey?

Ever since this debacle on “Saturday Night Live” in January, critics have called her manufactured and stiff. On the next episode of SNL, Kristen Wiig even spoofed Lana in a hilarious bit on Weekend Update.

So, why then can I not get her music out of my head?

On recent work trips, it’s been her album playing on my iPod.

It’s hypnotically catchy. Despite some of the most absurd lyrics around, they stay with you until you realize you were predestined to sing along.

More importantly, why hasn’t Christopher Walken read the lyrics as if they were poetry? He’s already done that with LMFAO.

In honor of this revelation, I decided to provide my favorite Del Reyism from each song on her debut album, “Born to Die.”

Needless to say, she has a very interesting view of romanticism, one that usually leads to death. Clearly she’s been reading too much Twilight… Oh, and her song “National Anthem”? Let’s just say it’s a very distant relative of Francis Scott Key’s rendition.

I hope you enjoy (or hate me for it). I’m sure Lana would approve either way.

  1. Born to Die: “Come on take a walk on the wild side/Let me kiss you hard in the pouring rain/You like your girls insane.”
  2. Off to the Races: “Light of my life, fire of my loins/Be a good baby, do what I want/Give me them gold coins, gimme them coins”
  3. Blue Jeans: “It was like, James Dean, for sure/You’re so fresh to death and sick as cancer/You were sorta punk rock, I grew up on hip-hop/But you fit me better than my favorite sweater”
  4. Video Games: “I say you the bestest/lean in for a big kiss/put his favorite perfume on/go play your video games”
  5. Diet Mountain Dew: “You’re no good for me/baby, you’re no good for me/but baby I want you, want you”
  6. National Anthem: “Money is the anthem of success/so put on mascara and your party dress”
  7. Dark Paradise: “Your soul is haunting me and telling me that everything is fine/but I wish I was dead
  8. Radio: “Pick me up and take me like a vitamin/’cause my body’s sweet like sugar venom, oh yeah”
  9. Carmen: “She laughs like God, her mind’s like a diamond/Buy her tonight, she’s still shining”
  10. Million Dollar Man: “One for the money, and two for the show/I love you honey, I’m ready, I’m ready to go”
  11. Summertime Sadness: “Kiss me hard before you go, summertime sadness/I just wanted you to know/That baby, you’re the best”
  12. This is What Makes Us Girls: “Drinking in the small town firelight/[whispers] Pabst Blue Ribbon on ice”
Leave a Reply

