Random Questions: Logan Morrison

Marlins first baseman Logan Morrison waits his turn during batting practice before the Aug. 23 game against the Rockies at Marlins Park. // Photo by Christina De Nicola

Marlins first baseman Logan Morrison during batting practice before the Aug. 23 game against the Rockies at Marlins Park. // Photo by Christina De Nicola

MIAMI — If you’re a baseball fan with a penchant for humor, you’re probably following Logan Morrison (@LoMoMarlins) on Twitter.

The 26-year-old first baseman isn’t afraid to interact with fans or tweet provocative messages.

On the diamond, Morrison is hitting .276 with four home runs and 26 RBIs since his return from a second knee surgery that sidelined him through the season’s first two months.

In this installment of Random Questions, LoMo talks about his bromance, breakfast, Mohawks and more.

RQ: You were once in a highly publicized bromance with Bryan Petersen (@PeteyPipes). How would you define a bromance, where is your bromance currently and what is your favorite bromance of all time?

LM: A bromance I guess would be a really good friendship between two guys. He’s one of my best friends. Still is. I talk to him all the time. He’s going to be in my wedding, so I think it’s in a good spot. I would probably say ‘Step Brothers’ with Will Ferrell and… What’s his name?

RQ: John C. Reilly. A couple weeks ago you tweeted asking people about Coral Gables breakfast places. Did you find a place?

LM: I went to Denny’s. I’ve been to the Coconut Grove brunch at Green Street. That’s pretty good.

RQ: Have you had a cronut before?

LM: No, what is that?

RQ: I had to look it up too! It’s half croissant and half donut, and now people are making a burger with a donut as the bun.

LM: That sounds good.

RQ: Looking out for you!

LM: I need to check that out.

RQ: What’s the one tweet you’ve seen that you haven’t done that you thought, ‘Damn, I wish I had tweeted that!’

LM: If you had asked me a couple days ago I would’ve had the answer to that because I was like, ‘That was awesome, I wish I had tweeted that!’ There’s a lot of tweets that I want to tweet but don’t want to deal with the backlash. (laughs) I guess… ‘The Legends of Wrestling are coming [Saturday], and there haven’t been that many PEDs in the building since the Brewers came to town.’

RQ: Ohhhh. What is something we don’t know about you?

LM: My first name’s Justis?

RQ: C’mon, we know that. Wikipedia. Everyone has it. [see note at bottom]

LM: OK. I have a boxer named Stella. Does everybody know that?

RQ: Yea, but that’s OK. See, that’s why I’m saying something we don’t know. It’s tricky, isn’t it?

LM: My favorite color is blue?

RQ: That’s fine. I didn’t know that. Thoughts on Ben Affleck as the new Batman?

LM: Yea, I’m not a big fan of that. I don’t know where they’re going with it. Are they trying to go back to the comical Batman? I don’t know. I like Christian Bale.

RQ: And finally… What were you thinking back in the day with — remember that Mohawk? I found the photo recently. 

Said Mohawk. // Photo by Christina De Nicola

Said Mohawk. // Photo by Christina De Nicola

LM: Against Milwaukee?

RQ: It was the last series of 2011 and you had — literally — a straight-up Mohawk.

LM: Yea, I had long hair and I was having a couple bad days of hitting, so I decided to mix it up and that’s what we went with. I hit a home run that night, so I guess it worked. So I think it was awesome. I think I might do it again.

Note: I stand corrected, LoMo. Turns out the name “Justis” cannot be found on your Wikipedia. Just Baseball Reference

Leave a Reply

