Miami Marlins 1B Justin Bour: ‘Baseball’s my sanctuary’

In case you hadn’t noticed on my Twitter (@CDeNicola13), I no longer cover the Miami Marlins and Miami Hurricanes for FOXSportsFlorida.com.

Papa FOX decided earlier in the year to lay off all regional writers across the country and redirect its focus on video content. So, with Miami’s baseball season done, so was my position. I had two great years working at the ballpark every day. Many would consider me crazy for enjoying the grind from February to October.

Towards the end of my run, I thought it would be neat to do a short video project with Marlins I could convince to give me a minute of their time. I would ask the simple question:

“What does baseball mean to you?”

It’s purposely open-ended and vague, so the interviewee had the chance to dictate what he wanted to say and for however long.

Today’s first installment involves first baseman Justin Bour, who earned National League Rookie of the Month honors for September. In his first big-league season, he hit .262 with 20 doubles, 23 homers and 73 RBI in 129 games. Not too shabby for a guy that didn’t make the Opening Day roster.

Leave a Reply

